November eNews Headers (21)

Golf Rules: Accidentally Hitting The Ball

Our PGA professionals at Hurstville are often asked about rulings from members after their competition rounds. To help increase the knowledge of our members we will add a ruling to each month’s newsletter.

This month’s ruling is thanks to Dennis Higgin’s query after his Tuesday comp round.

Accidentally hitting your ball whilst having a practice swing
The ruling for accidentally hitting your golf ball depends on which part of the golf course you are playing, so we have broken the rule up to 3 keys areas below;

FROM THE TEE – if you accidentally strike your ball whilst having a practice swing on the tee, you must replace your ball without any penalty. If you want to see an example of this occurring check out the following link of Zach Johnson 13th tee at The Masters on YouTube.

This rule doesn’t cover the golfer who intentionally sets up to hit a tee shot and miss hits the shot dribbling the ball of the tee or shooting the ball sideways off the heel or toe of the golf club.

THROUGH THE GREEN (fairway, rough, hazard) – if you accidentally strike your ball whilst having a practice swing in one of these areas, you are deemed to have moved your ball and must replace the ball and incur a 1 stroke penalty. If you fail to replace your ball it’s a 2 stroke penalty.

ON THE PUTTING GREEN SURFACE – if you accidentally strike your ball whilst having a practice stroke, you must replace your ball to the position it was resting before contact. There is no penalty for this incident.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email